Icepick (with Nate Wooley and Chris Corsano)

Icepick is the new trio of Nate Wooley (trumpet), Ingebrigt Haker-Flaten (double bass) & Chris Corsano (drums). “Amaranth,” the group’s first studio recording, was tracked in a single day in Austin, TX by Ian Rundell (of Ghetto Ghouls), and finds the trio building upon their debut cassette, “Hexane” from 2014. Icepick sculpt pointed & succinct songs out of classic free jazz improvisations.  Wooley, Haker-Flaten & Corsano are all at the top of their game here, sounding incredibly comfortable yet inspired in this trio setting. Many who found the debut release a promising start for this group will not be disappointed with the stronger fidelity and stronger connection between these three players.

praise for Icepick’s “Hexane”:

“Great live debut by this threesome.  Nate Wooley, Chris Corsano and Ingebrigt Haker-Flaten power down into some of the best trumpet trio stuff I’ve heard since the death of Raphe Malik.  Brass and rhythm section sounds like a spare setting, but these guys see that it ain’t.  Rich and explosive when it’s boiling, it’s stil damn rich when it’s just wafting.” – Byron Coley for The Wire